I Love the 80s! Part 1(Select-A-Set)

courtesy/weather.bloginky.com

courtesy/weather.bloginky.com

Oh…those crazy 1980s. First, I was born in 1981, the same year as MTV…that’s right folks. MTV was “born” just two days before me. That makes me feel a bit old.

Needless to say, I have a special fondness of the 80s. That’s when there was big hair, rolled jeans, neon clothing of all sorts, leggings (the first time around), cassette tapes, calling Jenny at 867-5309, awesome cartoons, PeeWee’s Playhouse, where you a Cindi Lauper girl or a Madonna girl, the Brat Pack (John Hughes’ movies), Patrick Swayze and so much more.

Personally, I loved the cartoons! Granted, I was just growing up then but I also grew up with all the fabulous music going on at the time. My mom exposed me to the country side of things, my dad to the pop/rock/blues side of things and my sister threw in the R&B/hip/hop/Top 40 music. This helps contribute to my so very eclectic taste but I have no regrets whatsoever. In fact, I’m super grateful. Life would be boring just liking one, two or even just three types of music…at least in my humble opinion.

I was just going to do one of these but as I was typing I realized there’s a good chance I’ll do more 80s music so this will be part one. Yay! This is my sort of ode to the pop music going on at the time. These are songs, that to me, seemed to have since been forgotten but were fairly big at the time.

First up – Icehouse’s “Electric Blue.” Man I love this song! First, let’s just say that’s one epic mullet! That epitomizes the 80s completely! Second, there’s that awesome electronic sound that got so big in the 80s. I can’t totally put my finger on it but this song is just so addicting for me. The sound, his voice…just grab me. I hope you like!

Second – Glass Tiger’s “Someday.” Again, there’s the keyboards and for lack of a better description, that 80s sound. It’s so darn catchy. His red beret and pink shirt are so classic 80s also. It doesn’t get much better.

Third – When in Rome’s “The Promise.” I love this song! I really like the lyrics and of course the electronic sound is huge in this one. I think this one, well all three really, just strikes a personal chord with me. I’m a bit of a hopeless romantic at times and so I get lost in what is being sung. Again, the music just grabs me and won’t let go. It’s infectious.

Chime in!

