The Sensual Side of Springsteen (Select-A-Set)

courtesy/www.nme.com

courtesy/www.nme.com

It’s difficult for me to imagine that there’s folks out there who DON’T like Bruce Springsteen, but I’m guessing there’s a few people…I feel sorry for them. Springsteen is a prolific and profound singer/songwriter but he’s also just a solid rock’n’roller. He has been this way since…virtually forever…well maybe not forever but certainly his entire career which is pretty lengthy.

He covers such a wide range of topics and it’s almost always in a way that people can relate to, connect with not just lyrically, but musically. He can write about reminiscing about the good ol’ days (“Glory Days”), but he can also get a bit political (i.e. “Born in the USA”). He also puts the politics aside and remembers the human side (“The Rising”).

Let’s face it…you don’t get to be “The Boss” without getting around to revving a few engines and getting some ladies (and gents) hot under the collar with some tunes from time to time. I’d like to take this opportunity to feature some of his better ones (at least in my humble opinion).

First up – “Cross My Heart.” This comes off the “Human Touch” album and let me say, I hadn’t realized quite how racy the lyrics are until after I YouTube’d that baby. You’re immediately thrown into him being on his knees begging and before long he’s talking about having something sweet and salty in his mouth…oh my!

Well the night gets sticky
And the sky gets black
I grabbed you baby, and you grabbed me back
And we crossed our hearts
Mmm we crossed our hearts
Yeah, I crossed my heart
Mmmhmmmhmmmm

The song is so sweltering and enticing. One can’t help but find him or herself swaying to the music. Definitely take some time to enjoy this one.

Second one – “Human Touch.” Where to begin with this one? There’s a slower build up to this one. Human Touch is more about, well just that…being human. There’s a natural desire to be close to another human from time to time – a need to feel desired, wanted. Intimacy, at whatever level, is something we all crave. The Biblical references, I think, are about removing religion from intimacy and simply being human. There’s probably a few ways to interpret it but that’s my thought.

Aint no mercy on the streets of this town
Aint no bread from heavenly skies
Aint nobody drawing wine from this blood
Its just you and me tonight
Tell me, in a world without pity
Do you think what Im askins too much
I just want something to hold on to
And a little of that human touch
Just a little of that human touch

It’s definitely one of my favorite Springsteen songs ever. It’s moving and real and it applies to everyone. It’s so universal. Enjoy!

Third one – “I’m On Fire.” Bruce, Bruce, Bruce…lusting after a committed woman. For shame. Yet, this song again is hot, hot, hot. His sultry voice and feverish lyrics are intoxicating.

Hey little girl is your daddy home
Did he go away and leave you all alone
I got a bad desire
Im on fire

Tell me now baby is he good to you
Can he do to you the things that I do
I can take you higher
Im on fire

Need I say more? Oh and that car…wow! Love that car. Mmmmm. The only real issue with this song is that it’s simply not long enough. C’mon Bruce…add a few more lines.

I would like to say that “Dancing in the Dark” gets honorable mention. It’s another song of his that I truly love (partly because I love dancing and in the dark is just fine by me) but it’s like “Human Touch” in that it’s about being with another person and satisfying that basic need. It’s also romantic…dancing in the dark is sweet. It sounds like a great way to get a spark between two folks who need to reenergize their love life. Just a thought.

2 responses to “The Sensual Side of Springsteen (Select-A-Set)

Chime in!

