Thankful Nov. Day 19: Thankful for Touch

courtesy/ health.howstuffworks.com

courtesy/ health.howstuffworks.com

I have to admit to being quite tired and I should have had this done this morning but, again I was tired and didn’t get to it. Sadly, this will probably be a short post but yesterday’s was pretty long so perhaps it’s a fair trade off.

I couldn’t talk about hearing, sight, taste, without touch. I’m sure smell will be there soon but later. All of the senses are amazing and all serve a wonderful purpose. Touch, like the others, has a psychological benefit also. I recently posted an article on my Facebook page about a woman who was charging for hugs or cuddles. An interesting concept indeed. According to the article, this young woman got the idea from a YouTube video showing a couple of guys giving out hugs for free. She decided it was a great business idea. She’s not alone. There are other places/people who do the same and people actually pay to get a hug or have a cuddle session.

People need to be touched. They need to be shown love, not just told they are loved. Sure the words are great but actions speak louder than words so if there isn’t affection to go along with it, those words will soon fall on deaf ears. I’m pretty sure there was a song all about that fact – Extreme – “More Than Words.” Yep that was it. That said, I can see why there would be businesses popping to fill this need. There are a lot of lonely, single people, or lonely married people even, that need to have that feeling. There are many people who are tired, depressed, frustrated with their situation, whatever it may be, so getting a hug or some cuddling in at just the right moment could have a huge positive influence for that individual.

When I first read the article, I was all for it, but now I’m not so sure it’s very ethical to exploit people’s insecurities/neediness/loneliness in this fashion. It’s not exactly cheap either. I suppose in the end it’s not really hurting anyone – someone has a need fulfilled and someone else is able to make a living and pay some bills (or do even better if business is booming). I just personally believe that hugs should be free, but maybe that’s just me.

Touch is vital. Research has shown that babies who don’t get held very much and are rarely touched, are said to “not thrive in life.” If memory serves, what I remember hearing in the past about babies who are rarely touched, is there isn’t a chance to bond. The lack of touch can influence physical and mental maturation and other aspects of a baby’s life. This is what I read on it.

Happy

Happy (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Going past all that, for me touch is an amazing experience. Again, it adds spice to life. Of course it serves as a warning – something’s too hot, too cold, causes pain, etc. There are also positives. There’s the chance to touch your loved one’s hand or caress a cheek. It’s said that kissing is very intimate and I tend to agree because of all the emotion that can be conveyed in that very simple act of touch. There’s a song for that too but I’m sure you all know it, something about how it’s in his kiss, or something like that.

As with the other senses, it can do a lot for memory. Touching a fabric might remind someone of a favorite sweater. The feel of fur might bring back a memory of a long lost pet. The feel of a pillow might bring up memories of a sleep over or even a particularly good night’s rest. That may seem silly, but someone who doesn’t get to rest well often will certainly appreciate one great night’s rest more than most.

Touch is pretty awesome. There’s the chance to touch soft pillows and cotton candy. Then there’s all the slimy, gooey things out there that can be fun to play with at different times. There’s the stories to be picked up by touching leathered hands; hands that clearly work hard. There’s something to be said about holding hands with really soft hands. The list goes on, but I think you get the idea by now. I’m so thankful that I have my sense of touch. There are those out there who don’t have it. Don’t take any of your senses for granted. So much story would be missed without all five.

13 responses to “Thankful Nov. Day 19: Thankful for Touch

    • LOL oh good grief. I’m trying to be serious here and there you go letting your imagination run wild. Tsk tsk. Totally shameful behavior Kenneth. Totally shameful. πŸ™‚

  1. although…i should admit…that while the first couple paragraph’s had my imagination leaping somersaults with crass things to write in your comments…..when i scrolled down and saw the picture of the baby it kind of deflated them all……i can’t look at pictures of cute babies and write something nutty…….good think u didn’t combine the baby pic with your topic of butt’s the other day….or was the topic on what your ass looked like when you were younger…I can’t remember….he he he πŸ˜‰

    • lol my topic yesterday had nothing to do with “butts” thank you very much. The topic was about door to door sales, how much I learned from that crazy experiment and how grateful I am to have had it, despite all the flaws. It had nothing to do with butts at all lol.

  2. and now you’re probably getting annoyed by this a third comment….but Jen….this particular line “Then there’s all the slimy, gooey things out there that can be fun to play with at different times…..”

    what did you WANT us to be thinking about???? lol

    • LOL you’re something else; I’m not annoyed by your comments at all. It’s turned out to be a great way to start my day… with a good laugh. I was thinking of things like frogs, or glue or other childhood related items you punk lol. What is it you think about in the morning while you’re drinking coffee geez? Hell, what is it you’re having IN your coffee? You’re being extra ornery these days, funny, but ornery. You might need to lay off some of that coffee πŸ™‚

      • “slimy gooey” makes u think of playing with frogs and glue….hmmmmm…makes me think of something else πŸ˜‰ we definitely think about VERY different things lol πŸ˜‰

      • LMAO – you sir need to get your mind OUT of the gutter. Geez. How do your other readers not know this about you? The truth may have to be revealed. πŸ™‚ just saying.

      • LOL liar! I’m sure it would be interesting as hell to know what you write that never makes the blog. My blog is open to writing about saucy things but since I don’t, it’s probably not really something I want to… that’s your mind in overdrive. πŸ˜‰

      • “liar” hmmmm…what DID u think I was referring to??? Alas…my innocent thoughts of wriggly gum and slimy noodles must have been misinterpreted by my dear friend Jen…my dear friend Jen who thinks dirty thoughts…..u my dear need to go home and say five hail Mary’s and three our fathers…..I on the other hand, innocent soul that I am will head to Starbucks now and order another coffee πŸ˜‰

      • lol you are soooooooo full of crap! You aren’t a priest/minister anyway so ppppfffffffttttttttt. I do not think dirty thoughts… that would be you sir who in previous comments made it clear that you do. I don’t think you need anymore coffee… you’re already on the verge of trouble as is. πŸ™‚

      • And my blog is sorta devoted to a particular vein of thought and style ….maybe I should start a second one where I discuss topics using more colorful language…..I bet you’d like my second one much better since u apparently enjoy the more saucy language :p lol

        I actually write a lot of stuff I never publish because I write on so many different topics, thoughts and ideas……..

Chime in!

