Happy St. Patrick’s Day! (select-a-set)

courtesy

courtesy

Oh yes…It’s St. Patrick’s Day once again. I know I’ve been so absent and I’m so sorry! I can’t decide what I’m doing with my life let alone my blog but if you’re still hanging around…thank you! So I thought today is a good day for a select-a-set (a set of three songs with the same theme) and Ireland has it!

So first up – “Song for Ireland” by Mary Black. I love this tune! It’s so beautiful. There really isn’t much else to say about it. I close my eyes and I can almost see the Emerald Isle that I have never been to but hope to one day. Gorgeous.

Second – “Me and Dirk’s Trip to Ireland” – Tim O’Brien from his Two Journey’s album. This is so fitting for the Irish! It’s fun, upbeat and up to a bit of mischief! A good, hearty song that suits a fun people. Enjoy!

Third – Karen Matheson – Dark Alan (Ailein Duinn). Okay so I’m cheating a little bit here because this is probably more Scottish Gaelic than Irish but the roots are similar enough. It’s a very sad lament about a woman and how her fiance died but Matheson’s voice is so moving and beautiful and the instrumentation is unforgettable. It’s just lovely and hard not to listen to repeatedly despite the sad tone.

I wish you all a very Happy St. Patrick’s Day! May the luck of the Irish find you today and always!

2 responses to “Happy St. Patrick’s Day! (select-a-set)

Chime in!

