Day 5: Silly Love Songs (select-a-set)

credit: Jennifer Denevan Such silly hearts!

credit: Jennifer Denevan
Such silly hearts!

I haven’t done a select-a-set in forever! I’m so sorry! I have also been bad about posting…again. I can’t seem to find my exact rhythm yet, but I’m working on it. It is Thursday though and I feel a need to get my “music” on. Yay!

So a quick reminder of two things: first – it’s February – the Love Month! I try and post about things, people, etc., that I love. This again started out as a Facebook project but has since expanded and why I have this blog. Go figure. I don’t have the time/energy to post every day on here, but I’m trying to post as regularly as possible. I want to incorporate my monthly theme in with the select-a-sets jsut to add a bit of fun. So here we go…silly love songs.

First – The Crash Test Dummies – “Swimming in Your Ocean.” I don’t really know where to begin with this tune. The intro makes you think oh what a sweet song, but the first lyric he says he gets distracted when he’s…well…um…I want to keep my blog PG so I won’t say but as he’s in the midst of a certain action, he’s thinking about why God creates tornadoes and train wrecks. Not exactly the usual thing someone thinks about when making out. Ultimately, it’s a sweet tune but a bit silly and commenting that all of us can let our minds wander a bit even when we’re with our favorite someone.

Two – “If I Had A Million Dollars” – Barenaked Ladies. I love the lines like “If I had a million dollars, I’d buy you an exotic pet, yep like a llama or an emu.” An emu? Really? Or how he’d buy his girl a green dress but not a real green dress, that’s cruel. It is? The entire song has this silly but cutesy feel to it throughout. The tune itself has this light, airy, upbeat pop sound that’s irresistible. It’s fun. Don’t pass it up!

Three – “Like My Dog” by Billy Currington. Okay so I decided to throw in a country tune because, I just did. This one can be construed as a bit mean in a way and yet it’s also just honest. It’s one many who just wishes his girlfriend would treat him better really. It comes out goofy by saying he wants her to treat him as his dog does but the saying “man’s best friend” does have to come from somewhere. Again, this song is bit silly in presentation but has a heartfelt wish and really, I think most would agree…dogs treat their owners with a love we’d all like to have.

4 responses to “Day 5: Silly Love Songs (select-a-set)

Chime in!

