A Fool Waiting For Love (Select-A-Set)

courtesy/www.smart-words.org

courtesy/www.smart-words.org

It seems to me that love is a waiting game. Some wait longer than others. Shoot – it seems like some don’t have to wait at all; it just shows up at their door. It must be nice.

As much as it can hurt sometimes, I find myself waiting. I’d rather be alone than be with the wrong one, but it is getting pretty tiresome to keep “kissing frogs” in a manner of speaking. I keep thinking of that scene in an episode of “Sex and the City.” Charlotte is frustrated and she says “I’ve been dating since 15. I’m exhausted. Where is he?” I totally agree. This is getting pretty hard on my heart.

I don’t go around searching for that guy but I’m always open to trying it out if asked on a date, but it never works out for me. It’s hard not to think that it must be me – that somehow there’s something wrong with me or I’m broken in some fashion. When I quit being emotional, I know none of that hogwash is true but it sure feels like it some days. I keep telling myself, though, it’s worth the wait. It’s worth finding that right guy because I don’t want to settle for less than I deserve. So here I am…waiting…still. I take a deep breath and tell myself…it’ll be fine. I’ll get there and when the time is right and the right guy comes along, it’ll so be worth all this heartache. I just hope I can actually believe that some time soon.

In the meantime, here are a few songs to help with the waiting. First up – “Wait for Me” by Rebecca St. James. I hadn’t really heard this song before tonight but this pretty much sums me up, I think. I just keep hoping and praying.

Second – “Real Love” – Mary J. Blige. I love this lady! She’s so talented and I love her voice. This song really speaks to the hardship of waiting but that a “real love” with be so worth the effort. It’s a great R&B song. It’s upbeat, catchy and the lyrics strike a chord with anyone who’s been hurt but willing to keep the faith for that real love. I hear you Ms. Mary!

Third – “Waiting for Superman” – Daughtry. This song fits me personally for so many reasons. Given my profession, I do indeed, feel like I’m waiting for my own Superman. I’m hoping that he really did just get hung up saving the day somewhere. I love the sound, the beat and as always, his voice is so emotional and expressive. It’s a great tune!

It occurred to me at the last second, I can’t have a set like this and not include The Supreme’s “Can’t Hurry Love.” This is the ultimate song related to waiting for that right someone to come along. It’s hard to keep waiting, but it’s like I’ve been taught, I’m worth the wait and so is he. It would be nice if it would speed up a bit now though.

6 responses to “A Fool Waiting For Love (Select-A-Set)

    • Agreed. 🙂 I’ve been with the wrong person in the past and the hurt was total ick. It would be easier to wait if I knew just how long I’d be waiting lol or if I could truly see a light at the end of the tunnel. It’s all good though – it’ll work out one way or another. Thanks for stopping by!

      • Same here! Being with the wrong one makes for some miserable times. But, you’re right. It will all work out. Everything works out eventually. It’s the waiting for it to work out, that’s the hard part.

  1. I can tell you I am happy that I waited for my adventure partner in life 🙂 I got married at 29 and turned 30 just a few months later. It will be our 10 year anniversary in a few months. Wishing You the BEST – Happy Weekend!

Chime in!

