Feelin’ Lucky (Select-A-Set Thursday)

courtesy/blog.chegg.com

courtesy/blog.chegg.com

Aww…yes the first select-a-set of March. Good times. My select-a-sets are an ode to times spent with my dad and listening to a radio station back in Denver. The station had this deal one day every week where they’d ask listeners to create sets of three songs that fit some type of theme. It could be a common thread in the lyrics or all of the same band. All three songs could be something like all the bands are names of locations or whatever. It ranged all over. The more creative they got, the better they were. There was a contest to see if other listeners could figure out the theme…at least for the more complicated sets. It was fun.

For me, this is a way to share my love of music with others. I hope you enjoy and please feel free to join the conversation. I welcome hearing from anyone about songs I may have overlooked or bands I need to hear. I like being exposed to new bands, songs, whatever. It’s good for the soul. This set is all about feeling lucky – all part of Lucky March.

So this week, naturally, I want to open up with some good old fashioned luck. The very first of this set is Mary Chapin Carpenter’s “I Feel Lucky.” I love this song! First Carpenter’s voice is simply lovely. She also has a great sense of humor and you find this in most of her music but this song in particular really hits the funny bone. It’s a good listen and the lyrics are entertaining.

Second song – “The Lucky One” by Alison Krause and Union Station. Ms. Krause has a simply beautiful voice. This is definitely a song about a guy probably pushing his luck but he’s certainly feeling lucky in the mean time. The guy she sings about seems to get away with a lot of misbehavior, but that’s why he’s the lucky one.

Third song – this last one doesn’t quite fit the theme here but it does in a way. Sometimes it is about the “Luck of the Draw” – Bonnie Raitt tells us so. I believe her. I suppose another way to look at it is that particular opportunity was simply meant for you at that time or it was meant for someone else – the luck of the draw. Bonnie is absolutely one of my favorite artists of all time (male or female). Her voice draws me in and her guitar work is always spot on – amazing musician. This is just another classic from this lovely red head.

5 responses to “Feelin’ Lucky (Select-A-Set Thursday)

  1. Have you ever heard of the singer Britney Spears? She did a song called, coincidentally, “Lucky”……… if you could only see how big a smile is on my face right now.

    • LOL hey you can’t win if you don’t buy one 🙂 Thanks! Yes those are some schnazy ladies right there. Aww music so sets me free. Have a great weekend!

Chime in!

