Select-A-Set: What’s Cookin’?

courtesy/www.kids-cooking-activities.com

courtesy/www.kids-cooking-activities.com

I’ve gotten really bad about posting my select-a-sets on time but that will change. I will, by God, get on track again. I will. That said, last night I tried out a new recipe – Bombay Shrimp Curry with Coconut Rice. I’ve never made a curry before so it was a bit of an adventure. It came out tasting pretty good though, so it worked out well.

So how does this all tie into my select-a-set? Well, it’s difficult to find songs related to choices, my theme for the month, so I thought there’s another way to do this. Since I’m working hard to get less round and eat healthier, it can relate to my having tried another recipe last night. Eating at home more and knocking out the processed foods will help greatly so this week’s select-a-set is about cooking. Yum. This is definitely a set that’s meant to just be fun. It’s not necessarily critically awesome music but can be enjoyed.

First up, the obvious choice – “Hey Good Looking” – by Jimmy Buffett and friends. This is actually an old Hank Williams song that Buffett covered with several Country singers. It’s a fun song, especially with all the extra singers.

Second – Dean Martin’s “That’s Amore.” Okay so this song isn’t about food per se, but the fabulous late-Dean Martin talks pizza, wine and more in relation to love. Hey food and love tend to go hand in hand often. Plus many may remember this song from the beginning of “Moonstruck” starring Cher and Nicholas Cage, a wonderful little film and earned Cher an Oscar. If you haven’t seen it, you should. It’s fun, sweet, funny and very entertaining. I would add that Italian food is amazing. Yum!

Third – I ended up straying a little here – I went from cooking to just food. Oh well. This is my set I can do that but I figure a little “Tangerine” is good for us all. This is Big Head Todd and the Monster’s cover of Led Zepplin’s “Tangerine.” I love this. I love Big Head Todd also – wonderful band.

I hope you like my little set. There are lots of songs out there related to food and cooking. If any of you have some, please feel free to let me know what I may have overlooked. I always like to hear suggestions for other sets and songs I may not know about.

3 responses to “Select-A-Set: What’s Cookin’?

  1. If I ever have the chance I want to see jimmy perform down in the keys, sounds silly but whatever :-). I found a CD yesterday on the ground; Andrea Bocelli, I think he’s French right? Or Italian? Lmao I don’t even know but I’ve been listening to it all day

    • LOL omg you’re a goober; he’s Italian – check out the name Bocelli šŸ˜‰ Also I believe he was one of The Three Tenors wasn’t he? I think he was. Hmmm. I’m not a big Buffett fan but he’s alright. It would be fun to see him in the Keys if nothing else because it’s the Keys haha.

Chime in!

