Merry December: Reflecting on 2013 Highlights

credit: me/may 2012 crystal clear sky and a full moon, piercing the night sky

credit: me/may 2012
crystal clear sky and a full moon, piercing the night sky

There’s so much promise when a new year comes around. The bright moon that night was beautiful but also made me think about possibilities and to reflect on what good has already come to pass (yes the photo was taken nearly mid-year but there’s nothing wrong with taking an evaluation and make some decisions, etc.). On this night, this last night before the world is renewed, it’s about reflection, being grateful for the good and appreciative of surviving the bad. It’s about looking forward to the start of a new beginning.

I have to say that 2013 was an improved year from 2012 for me. There were still some lows for me, including continuing to struggle with my age complex and other insecurities and the occasional family and friend frustrations as we all have from time to time. Even though there may have been bumps in the road, I’m getting a chance to end the year on a high note with increased participation in volunteering, which has really  helped me in more ways than one. I’m also just feeling better about what is possible for me if I just get a bit more dedicated to certain things and aspects like my work and volunteering, I can do so much more and be successful at so much more. I just have to remember that I can do it. It’s just been forgotten, lost in just trying to survive instead of living.

I know I have been a bit negligent of this blog in recent days, not posting much for a bit. My writing has gotten tired to me and so I needed a few days or so to give me a chance to find real words. I want my writing to be something and not always so forced. It was feeling phony for a bit there. It’s a goal to right that ship. So in this post, I’m keeping with this month’s theme (which I’ll be reconsidering this theme for next year – it was a bit tough to be that “merry” for a full month ha!) and merrily reflecting on what has turned out to be a pretty good year for me overall.

My year included many highlights. Among them was getting a new camera from my dad and having opportunities to try it out. I am loving photography more and more and I see this happening even more in 2014. This could even mean a bit of a shift in my focus work-wise, but I’m not sure yet. That’s a mystery I’m looking forward to unfolding. Work did go well and was busy in the spring with lots of events covered, all of which were pretty successful. The boat show that’s held out here every year at the end of February was a roaring success and organizers hope to continue to make it even bigger.

March marked one year since my grandfather died. It was a tough couple of days because I miss him so much still and a void remains, but I know he’s with me always. He was hurting and now he’s in a better place. So it wasn’t even a total lowlight, it was a great opportunity to remember what a wonderful man he was.

I also started this blog in 2013 (April to be exact). There were a great many “foolish” moments but starting this blog wasn’t one of them. It’s been a great ride and I hope to make it better with each passing month, theme, post. Thank you all who have been making it such an adventure for me. This blog, this world called WordPress, has really opened up a whole other world for me and I couldn’t be more grateful. I know I haven’t gotten to getting to everyone’s blog and I hope to get to that very soon. It is my goal to visit my readers’ blogs, I’ve just been so busy with lots but know that I will get to it. Thank you all for being so patient.

Other silly but fun highlights include some of the movies I have seen this year such as “The Lone Ranger” and “The Hobbit: Desolation of Smaug.” I loved those movies! It’s good to see some wonderful entertainment to help bring a smile to a face and just have a chance to escape reality for a bit.

Vacation is another way I managed to survive the year. First, my friend Dave came out for a visit to California in May. He invited me to meet him out in LA to go with him to Disneyland. As it turned out, we also went to California Adventure because I had never been so Dave was awesome enough to let me tag along. It was such a great time! Super memorable! I also took a week off to trek California – seeing family around Santa Cruz and Sebastopol but also seeing another friend in LA. The drive between those two places was amazing. I wish I had stopped and taken some photos. It was like a dream some of those places. I’ll have to try and go back some time.

There was the Centennial Celebration here in Needles. It was a grand event for a city celebrating being incorporated for 100 years. It’s a big milestone and the city did it well. I also saw a traveling version of the Vietnam War Memorial and that was a big deal. I want to see the real one eventually but it was a good start.

Lastly, there was all of my volunteering. I hadn’t done too much or became too involved with it but events taking place in October forced my hand and I would end up getting more involved with the actual folks to do the volunteering and as with WordPress, it opened up another world for me. It’s really turned into something special and I love it. I can’t wait to see what else lies in front of me.

With that – I wish you all… a very Happy New Year! Please enjoy the night but be safe! Start the new year on the right foot.

4 responses to “Merry December: Reflecting on 2013 Highlights

Chime in!

