Merry December: Blog of the Year 2013 Award

Blog of the Year Award 1 star jpeg

 

Holy cow! There is someone out there that thinks enough of me, my writing and this blog to have presented me this award and I couldn’t be appreciative and flattered. A very special thanks goes to Michael Fedison who so graciously presented me with this. Michael is a wonderful writer who’s blog I happened upon when I started this little venture back in April. His blog, The Eye-Dancers, is related to his book of the same title. I have read it, it’s a young adult mystery, and it’s wonderful. I love his posts and how they relate back to his book. He also uses his experiences writing to help others who are writing their own books. Michael’s a wonderful asset to those of us trying to get our feet under us.

I have to admit to being really behind the times on this though. I received this award at the end of November but I’ve been so busy just trying to keep up at work and maintaining my blog I haven’t gotten around to it. This weekend, um, my weekend is the best time to finally do what I’m supposed to do with this award. I have a couple of extra days so here I go.

First, this is my opportunity to say a little piece about the blogs I have chosen. The Culture Monk, Kenneth Justice, has become a friend of mine. He’s a wonderful writer and has some fabulous insight in the world we live. He focuses on talking about what he observes in Western Culture because it’s what he knows best, but trust me, this man loves his coffee and a good conversation to go with it. He can be a bit challenging at times but I think that’s a good thing for all of us. Please check his site out.

I’m also giving this award to Polysyllabic Profundities. I have to admit to initially being attracted to her blog because I loved the title. There’s so much in just those two words and that’s probably one of the things I love the most about this lady’s blog – she doesn’t have to use lots of words to clearly communicate. Most of her posts are short but her words resonate and are so strong, lots of words simply aren’t needed.

I also want to give a shout out to Of Fries and Men. I love this blog! This lady has wonderful insight in the world of dating and I’m always so amused by how she makes the comparison between men and fries work so well. It really does work very well. She’s also a great writer and she seems to have a good sense of humor and be level headed that shows up in her writing. Please check her blog out! She’s really fun.

Another selection I have for Blog of the Year 2013 is Cravesadventure. This lovely lady is honest with herself and the world. She also is unafraid to live life to the fullest and encourages everyone else to do the same. She shares her experiences but also keeps an upbeat, positive attitude that I enjoy. Her photos are amazing and the lessons she learns and shares are worth stopping by for a minute.

I also recommend to everyone, Laurie’s Lovely Living. I enjoy what this lovely lady has to share about her family, experiences, food, etc. If you haven’t noticed, I love upbeat, positive writing. My life had fallen into a rut so I’ve been surrounding myself with those who keep an upbeat tone in their lives and that’s been really good for me. Laurie’s blog is another fabulous way to keep a positive outlook on life. She shares recipes, life experiences and more and it’s always an adventure.

Lastly, but certainly not least, there is Guy Horst. His blog, Grhgraph’s Blog, is wonderful. This gentleman is so genuine in his writing and thorough. He’s eloquent and sincere but also insightful. He doesn’t write super often, but when he does, it’s sure to be excellent. He does have strong religious beliefs but doesn’t push his beliefs but encourages others to find their way on their own.

So finally, I decided this post all relates back to my personal theme because well, for one, it really made me “merry” to be so recognized by a writer I think highly of and enjoy. Also, it’s a chance to spread some cheer by not only awarding others who I feel are standout writers, but to allow others to get to know these folks. Lastly, here are the rules (aka instructions for those awarded):

The instructions for this award are simple (and come from the originator):

1 Select the blog(s) you think deserve the ‘Blog of the Year 2013’ Award

2 Write a blog post and tell us about the blog(s) you have chosen – there are no minimum or maximum number of blogs required – and ‘present’ the blog(s) with their award.

3 Let the blog(s) that you have chosen know that you have given them this award and share the instructions with them – (please don’t alter the instructions or the badges!)

4 Come over and say hello to the originator of the ‘Blog of the Year 2013’ Award via this link – http://thethoughtpalette.co.uk/blog-awards-2/blog-of-the-year-2013-award/

5 You can now also join the ‘Blog of the Year’ Award Facebook page – click the link here https://www.facebook.com/groups/BlogoftheYear/ and share your blog posts with an even wider audience.

6 And as a winner of the award – please add a link back to the blog that presented you with the award – and then proudly display the award on your blog … and start collecting stars…

Yes – that’s right – there are stars to collect!

Unlike other awards which you can only add to your blog once – this award is different!

When you begin you will receive the ‘1 star’ award – and every time you are given the award by another blog – you can add another star!

There are a total of 6 stars to collect.

Which means that you can check out your favourite blogs – and even if they have already been given the award by someone else – you can still bestow it on them again and help them to reach the maximum 6 stars!

‘Blog of the Year 2013’ Award Badges

Here are the six badges for you to collect – you can either ‘swop’ your badge for the next one each time you are given the award – or even proudly display all six badges if you are lucky enough to be presented with the award six times!

You can find those badges here.

6 responses to “Merry December: Blog of the Year 2013 Award

    • LOL always a brat you are -geez! You’re the one going around singing Brittany Spears – that’s your own bad musical taste not mine lol. 😛 Such a punk… oh well.

Chime in!

