Merry December: The Beauty of Lights

credit: J.Denevan (me)/I took this my first December here in Needles at what is called the Ferret Farm. This guy goes nuts with decorating! This is a portion of a giant lights only Christmas Tree

credit: J.Denevan (me)/I took this my first December here in Needles at what is called the Ferret Farm. This guy goes nuts with decorating! This is a portion of a giant lights only Christmas Tree

One of my favorite things about December is all the lights. There are so many lights all around. It seems a bit of a silly thing for such a small item to bring so much joy and make people “merry”, but it does.

The above photo is taken of a local resident’s property. There are hundreds, if not thousands, of lights all of this guy’s property. It’s insane! I remember my first time going out there, I was astonished at all the decorations. I was immediately in awe of the lights-only Christmas tree. It was huge and was incredibly beautiful. The colors were so easy on the eyes.

As I walked through this lighted wonderland, I found so many different places and different little areas that were lit. It was funny because this guy also has a variety of different geese walking the grounds. They were virtually guard geese I think. They started to walk very quickly after me at one point. I was getting a bit nervous. I really didn’t want to get bit by a bird – that just didn’t sound to appealing to me.

credit: J.Denevan (me)/ the same Christmas tree but looking at the whole thing. Impressive huh?

credit: J.Denevan (me)/ the same Christmas tree but looking at the whole thing. Impressive huh?

The Ferret Farm is the latest place I’ve gone that was all crazy with the lights, but it’s not the only place I’ve seen that overdoses on decorations. One of my best memories growing up during December is the family getting in the car and going around looking at Christmas lights. I always had a lot of fun just driving around and see what people had done to decorate for the holidays. Okay so the Clark Griswald’s of the world may drive their neighbors nuts, but personally, I love it! Okay so a little too much can drive anyone crazy, but it’s fun to look at all the different things people have on their lawns and houses. It’s almost like a puzzle trying to find all the details hidden in the joyful lights.

There’s one house I remember from my childhood in particular. I can’t remember the location now, but I always remember there were a lot of Christmas decorations but also the more religious ones too. The house had four bay windows and in each one, there were animatronics. The moving carousels and other fun items really caught my eye. It was like a wonderland for me. We would purposely go by that house every year. It was almost tradition. We weren’t alone either. There were usually many cars going by to view that house. It was pretty spectacular.

The other lights I love – the Denver Zoo Lights display. I have such a good time any chance I get to go to the Denver Zoo’s holiday light display. There are so many cool things and I’ve often had cool experiences there. My first Christmas back home from moving to Needles, I asked a bunch of friends to join me for dinner and then head to the Denver Zoo to see the lights. It was a good time! It was fairly cold, but not too bad by Denver standards. It was really great to see some of those friends too because some I hadn’t seen in years. It was a nice gathering of folks and it was a nice dinner also. It was a great night! There was lots to be merry about. I haven’t been to the Denver Botanic Gardens Christmas lights display in a long time but that’s also a very beautiful display.

Lastly, but certainly not least…one of my fondest memories of Christmas time is our own Christmas tree. Oh how I loved decorating the tree! I loved being able to put up all those ornaments. It was a great time getting to put up the tinsel, etc. I do think now I would decorate my own tree a bit differently if I could. I may even go old fashioned by stringing popcorn, if nothing else, just for the experience.

The best part came at night, once the tree was all decorated. After all the chores were done and everyone was going to bed, I used to love to stay up for a bit and just look at the tree. The soft glow coming off the tree was so beautiful. I found it to be so peaceful. It was calming. Of course, it was always fun to look under the tree and see my name on some of the presents. It was great to try and figure out what the presents were before hand. Just thinking about it is bringing a smile to my face.

It’s those moments I miss the most. Not all the craziness or even the presents themselves…it’s the serenity of it all. That’s what it’s supposed to be about. I miss the good family moments. Things weren’t always so calm because my parents never did have a great relationship so things could get tense, but those in between moments were the best. Lights… who know such little things can bring such joy and make everything so merry?

2 responses to “Merry December: The Beauty of Lights

Chime in!

