Thankful Nov. Day 8: Thankful for Sight

credit: me

credit: me

I’m a bit delayed in getting this post up today. Shame on me. So onward I go, with my Thankful November. Every day I am thankful for something else. What am I grateful for today? Sight.

I can’t imagine too many people who aren’t thankful for the ability to see. Oh how different life would be without sight. Again, I don’t ever want to sound remotely disrespectful to anyone who doesn’t have their sight. Life can be just as beautiful, it’s just different. In fact, it can be argued that on occasion sight fools us. There are actual visual tricks but there’s also the whole “seeing is believing” bit. Sometimes sight is with the heart or soul, not always with the eyes.

What are some things I love about sight? I love it when I can see a great movie. I was just discussing with a friend of mine about “Meet Joe Black.” We both loved the scene when Death tries peanut butter for the first time. You can tell by the look on his face and subtle reaction how much he loved it. It was one of those moments you can only tell happened because you saw it.

I love it when I can see the smile on a child’s face. When I was doing my volunteering back in college (read about it here, here and here), it became particularly important to see those precious smiles. I was working with inner-city kids; kids who couldn’t be kids anymore. They had to be extra careful walking to and from school. Those kids couldn’t be allowed a recess because just across the street from their school there were drug busts and other violence. It was literally too unsafe for those kids at that school to be outside even during school hours. So much for drug/violence free zones. It was amazing to get to see the smiles on their faces when my group would talk about the fact that we came all the way from Colorado to see Detroit kids. They were amazed by that. It’s the little things in life.

I love seeing rainbows after a terrific rain. I love seeing the rain. I was just writing about in one of my letters that one of the most beautiful sights I’ve ever seen is in the middle of the night after a snowfall, I’d wake up and look out the window. I could see all the newly fallen snow on the ground and it sparkled with the lamp light or even the moonlight shinning off of it. I also used to love it when the moonlight shone through my bedroom window and onto my pillow. I’m a ham I know but it just seemed so magical.

Oh wonderful sight…I loved it when I was in Italy. The sights were amazing! I loved riding the train because I could take it all in, just watching the Roman ruins pass by. I could see all the brilliant green that was all around. There was all the scenery, the markets and all the people. Venice was gorgeous and the canals were stunning. It was a little overcast that day but it was a great day. Too bad it didn’t last longer.

The stars are breathtaking. One of the most amazing sights I’ve ever been privileged to see was during the Fourth of July after my freshman year of high school. My parents actually let me go with a friend and her parents to Custer, South Dakota for the holiday. We were outside and the stars couldn’t be brighter. I have never seen so many in my life. What I wouldn’t give to be able to go back. It was like looking at heaven. Some sights are just burned into your retinas forever… and it’s a good thing.

What I love to see the most? I love seeing acts of kindness. I love it when I read an article about someone doing the right thing for the right reason. I love seeing photos of family members hugging and seeing the joy on their faces. The most beautiful sight is seeing the good in the world. It’s not always so easy to see, but it’s there.

4 responses to “Thankful Nov. Day 8: Thankful for Sight

  1. As an artist, sight is one of the most precious gifts, and you have just reminded me to take better care of my eyes, so thanks for that! Hope tomorrow brings you sunshine! x

    • Thank you! Yes I suppose that’s part of why I love my sight so much also because I love to be able to frame and take photos. It’s a very wonderful way of viewing the world. 🙂

Chime in!

