Select-A-Set Thursday: Final Halloween set, Pt. 8 (Halloween Party 2)

couretsy/www.hdwallpapers.in

couretsy/www.hdwallpapers.in

It’s Thursday and it just happens to be Halloween! Awesomeness! Here is my disclaimer to all the select-a-sets for this month: I tried to cover a lot of ground but there may have been some songs that were missed. Please feel free to make suggestions to any of the sets so that perhaps next year, I’ll have a more complete grouping or at least, a different one. Thanks for following thus far and I hope  you enjoyed “Spooky October”- the theme for this month. So onto the music.

First – Bobby “Boris” Pickett’s “Monster Mash.” There couldn’t be a Halloween party without this standard. It’s fun, it’s upbeat and it’s full of monsters and even Dracula. It’s sad to hear that the Transylvania Twist is no longer. This particular video is also awesome because the guy who did the video is quite creative! Hope you enjoy!

Second – There could never, ever be a GOOD Halloween party without Oingo Boingo’s “Dead Man’s Party.” The line: “Leave your body and soul at the door” pretty much says it all. I grew up with this music (not quite sure what that says about my childhood but oh well) and I love it! Danny Elfman is a music genius who happens to be a bit on the morbid side but everyone benefits from it. This is just a good time, feel-good song despite it’s “dead” message. This video is also very well done. “Jack Skellington” from Tim Burton’s “The Nightmare Before Christmas” is “singing.” Well fun fact (if you didn’t know) Elfman is Jack’s singing voice for the movie so it fits extra well. Elfman and Burton tend to work together often on movies. Go figure.

Third – okay, okay I’ve been waiting for this moment since Oct. 1. Halloween could never be complete without this quintessential song: Michael Jackson’s “Thriller.” It’s creepy, the video is a short movie and of course, it features Vincent Price (well his voice). Using Price on this was absolute pure genius. His voice adds the extra eerie and creepy and gives me goosebumps (these are all compliments by the way). As a kid, as much as I loved the song and the video, I always had to shut my eyes during it because I’d get scared. It never kept me from watching it though, it’s so addictive and well thrilling. This song IS Halloween. I’m posting the full video because that’s the only way to really get the full effect of this song. Enjoy!

Okay so bonus song: Because it is Halloween, I think it appropriate to have a song from “The Nightmare Before Christmas.” Here it is: “This is Halloween.”

I’m wishing each and everyone of you a very Happy Halloween! Dress up and be marry but please be safe – no drinking and driving or flying and texting… or some other combinations like that.

One response to “Select-A-Set Thursday: Final Halloween set, Pt. 8 (Halloween Party 2)

  1. Reblogged this on stormy musings and commented:

    Yes I realize it’s lame to reblog your own post lol but sadly I’m running short on time today but wanted to post something; wishing each and everyone of you a Happy and Safe Halloween! While out there driving please be careful of lil’ ghosts and goblins trick or treating and be extra patient with children as they come to your door seeking treats. 🙂 Hope it’s a wonderful day/night for everyone of you!

Chime in!

