Breast Cancer is Spooky, but Awareness Helps

courtesy/wickedlocal.com

courtesy/wickedlocal.com

It’s so spooky to think about how one in eight women will be diagnosed with breast cancer in her lifetime. It’s also spooky to think about breast cancer being the most commonly diagnosed cancer in women and is the second leading cause of death among women. According to NationalBreastCancer.Org, it’s estimated that over 220,000 women in the U.S. will be diagnosed with breast cancer and more than 40,000 will die. Despite misconceptions, men can get breast cancer also, though it’s rare. According to the same site, an estimated 2,150 men will be diagnosed with breast cancer and approximately 410 will die each year.

credit: me/Broncos home game; went with my mom in 2011

credit: me/Broncos home game; went with my mom in 2011

I have to admit that while I was trying to figure out what to write about today, breast cancer awareness had escaped me. Shame on me. Fortunately, my love of football helped out because the NFL is showing their support by having all kinds of pink all over and all teams are doing something to show their support at the start of games and/or during halftime. This reminded me that it continues to be so very important to look at this issue and others. It’s good to know that large organizations, such as the NFL, show their support. It’s important.

I think for me one of spookiest things about this particular illness is that from what I’m reading, there doesn’t appear to be any real rhyme or reason. I was reading that website, that I’ve linked, and it discusses the various risk factors. There are genetic and environmental risk factors such as family history or living an inactive lifestyle. Those are the known risk factors. It then goes onto talk about unknown risk factors and obviously, those aren’t well… known. The spooky part really comes in when it shows statistics that 60 – 70 percent of breast cancer patients are without known risk factors. The remaining 30 to 40 percent of patients have known risk factors. This tells me that more women are diagnosed with this deadly disease and there’s really no way to know why they have it. There’s nothing giving at least an indication how those women were unfortunate enough to be diagnosed with it.

credit: me/ Broncos game 2011

credit: me/ Broncos game 2011

It’s crazy to think that there isn’t a pattern or some way to have a way to predict it. Other types of cancer at least seem to have more patterns but not this one. However, the good news is that there’s a lot of information about it and lots  of research happening. It’s also comforting to know that it can be caught early; that there is hope and certainly a way to beat this disease. There’s a lot of catch phrases and gimmicks for this now but in the end, it’s about saving lives, not breasts. It’s not about releasing the tatas or saving the boobies, it’s about lives; it’s about our moms, grandmothers, daughters, sisters, aunts and friends. Encourage women to get their exams because even though it may seem to target middle-aged women, it can strike earlier.

So on that note, I leave  you with Melissa Etheridge’s “I Run for Life.” This was written after her own bout with breast cancer and coming out the victor.

5 responses to “Breast Cancer is Spooky, but Awareness Helps

  1. ive never really understood breast cancer awareness month because i’m always aware of breasts…..I don’t need a month to remind me…..(is that to uncouth for the month?) 🙂

    • LOL omg you’re terrible; it’s really about being aware of a type of cancer kenneth! im pretty sure i said at the end it’s not really about breasts it’s about moms, daughters, sisters, aunts, friends… it’s about people you goober! 😛

      • Ya know…thinking about it some more…I think we need a new law in the united states (cuz we simply don’t have enough laws 😉 ) that makes it illegal to use the words “spooky” and “breasts” in the same article……and if that law gets passed your going to have to do an edit on your article my dear……..

      • LOL heck no I won’t. I’ll get grandfathered into that law. I was talking about the cancer being spooky geez or better yet the statistics regarding that particular type of cancer. I had no idea that “breasts” would just flat make you silly Kenneth lol. You’re such a “guy.” I should’ve known.

  2. Reblogged this on stormy musings and commented:

    Okay so I’m cheating today by reblogging my own post lol but this is one that I think I don’t always need to reinvent the wheel. I probably should have reposted this earlier but it just occurred to me. Please be aware; please get checked! It’s oh so important.

Chime in!

