Select-A-Set Thursday: “Follow the Yellow Brick Road”

courtesy/imdb.com

courtesy/imdb.com

So I’ve had this idea knocking around my head for a little bit for this first Select-A-Set for October. I grew up with the “Wizard of Oz” books. I remember my dad reading “The Magic of Oz” to me and my brother. I then ended up reading the first seven books written by L.Frank Baum. I loved the stories and the characters! It was always an interesting an adventure. I loved this as a set because it works in terms of the characters are so loved and have been used for Halloween costumes forever. Also, it’s fall… scarecrows are always to be found in autumn related art and music.

There are a total of 14 books written by Baum. There are numerous books that have since come out following the Oz general storyline, including “Wicked” which gives the other side of the story. I had this select-a-set thought out years ago and now finally have a way to share it. This may not be like the other sets but remember the thing about them is the theme can be the artist, the lyrics or some other connecting idea. I hope you enjoy.

First up – Toto – “Africa. I love this song. I’m sure you can figure out how this is connected. Toto was that adorable little dog that accompanied Dorothy on her first adventure to the land of Oz. I believe he would go with her more than once but it’s been a long time since I’ve read those books. I’ll need to refresh my memory.

Second – Kansas – “Dust in the Wind.” If you don’t recall, Kansas is where Dorothy was raised with her aunt and uncle. I figured “Dust in the Wind” works because it was a pretty strong “wind” that first carried Dorothy to Oz. Darn those twisters!

Third – John Mellencamp – “Rain on the Scarecrow.” This one probably doesn’t fit as well other than the scarecrow part. Though in some ways it does because Dorothy lived on a farm with her aunt and uncle and struggled at times. I’ve always loved this song for multiple reasons. Part of it is the sound but also the family connection. He’s speaking out against the treatment of farmers by banks. It’s a wonderful tune.

So a bonus tune for you all is America’s “The Tin Man.” Again, I’m not sure this needs a lot of introduction. There’s a great line in it: “But Oz never did give nothing to the Tin Man that he didn’t, didn’t already have.” This is true. All of them really had the things they were seeking, they just didn’t know it.

Chime in!

